Restaurant Visit: Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba

As a Lincoln Park resident and avid tapas fan, it seems ridiculous to me that my first visit to Café Ba-Ba-Reeba was last week. But alas, it’s true. However, it most certainly won’t be my last visit.

Ben and I headed to Café Ba-Ba-Reeba for dinner with his aunt and uncle. We sat on the patio, which due to Chicago weather was covered and heated, but during the summer is completely open. (I do love al fresco dining.)

We started with pineapple sangria (on special) and house-made olives. As Ben’s aunt is a vegetarian, we heavily sampled the non-meat options on the menu. Even for the rest of us carnivores, the vegetarian options are delicious. We ordered mushroom empanadas (delicious), vegetarian paella (I can smell the saffron), and the Spanish cheese platter (glorious).

We also got one of my favorite dishes that Café Ba-Ba-Reeba does. I was well acquainted with this particular dish in advance of eating in the restaurant because one of my girlfriends enjoys making it for our monthly book club. It is a warm goat cheese marinara dip. Served with garlic bread, it is literally one of the best flavor combinations. (But then you give me garlic and cheese and I’m a happy camper.)

For those of you enamored by glistening veins of fat and cuts of beef, never fear, we ordered the braised beef short rib (so incredibly tender) and the cured Spanish meat tray (again served with cheese…yumm!)

I was in complete food heaven. Delightful conversation and small plates tend to lead to my most favorite dinners. The dinner that lingers on and on as food is brought in waves and the drinks are constantly refilled. It’s such a great way to catch up with friends and family.

Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba
2024 Halsted Street
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 935-5000
Leave a comment

Filed under culture, drinking, eating, restaurants

Leave a Reply

