The World’s Best Banana Bread…I am NOT joking

I love banana bread and have been recently tweaking my favorite recipe just to spice things up. I found the recipe originally in my Fast, Easy, Fresh Bon Appetit cookbook (one of my absolute favorites!) and anytime I have bananas in the house, I end up whipping up a loaf or two. The best part of this recipe is that it is SO EASY! In my first apartment, the only tools in my kitchen were a bowl (not a mixing bowl mind you, a serving bowl), a spatula, and a loaf pan. No mixer required!

Something you should know about me: I LOVE BANANAS…but I don’t like them once they start to get any sort of brown spot. So needless to say, I get to make banana bread quite often, which is always cause for a smile 🙂

This time I made a couple of slight changes to the recipe, including adding chocolate chips. I’m a firm believer that chocolate chips are a good addition to pretty much anything. Ben prefers the banana bread without the chocolate chips, so I make it both ways. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe medium bananas, mashed (I wait until the bananas are ENTIRELY brown…they have the most banana flavor)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (optional) (I used Ghirardelli chips)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon buttermilk (I used Skim Milk this time around…still delicious)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter and flour 9x5x3 in metal loaf pan. (I used PAM.) Whisk bananas and eggs in large bowl to blend. Add all remaining ingredients and stir to blend well. Transfer batter to prepared pan. Bake bread until top is golden brown and splits slightly and tester inserted into center comes out clean, (about 1 hour 20 minutes). Cool pan on rack 20 minutes. Turn bread out onto rack and cool slightly. Serve warm or at room temperature.

NOTE: Recipe doesn’t double very well. To make multiple loaves, you’ll need to make multiple batches of batter.

Slight cracking on the top!

MMMMMMMM!!

(Weight Watchers 10 PointsPlus per slice assuming 12 slices per loaf)

3 Comments

Filed under baking, breads, breakfast, likes

3 responses to “The World’s Best Banana Bread…I am NOT joking

  1. I think I love banana bread as much as you. I too recently tweaked my fave banana bread recipe. I do agree that chocolate goes well with bananas but I decided to add peanut butter chips. The pics of the bread look awesome by the way…I am sure it tasted even better.

  2. This looks super easy to make! Yum 🙂

  3. newmrsegan – OOO Peanut butter chips, YUM! And the bread did taste phenomenal

    amazingfoodadventures – it is SO easy to make! and delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

