More Macarons – Girl Scout Remix

More Snow Day fun, this time with macarons. As I mentioned earlier, I took full advantage of my snow day and baked up a second blizzaster in my kitchen! (For real…there was powdered sugar everywhere!)

I made more macarons because I just couldn’t get enough, but this time I wanted to go for something a little more decadent. Enter peppermint extract.

I used the same recipe as before, but made the following substitutions:

  • 1/2 cup ground almonds (or almond flour…I used Red Mill) –> change
  • 1 cup powdered sugar –>change
  • 3 tablespoons Dutch-processed cocoa powder –> addition (remove cinnamon)
  • 3 large egg whites (at room temp.) –> same
  • 5 tablespoons granulated sugar –> same
  • 3/4 teaspoon peppermint extract –> addition (remove vanilla)

While my macarons didn’t turn out as pretty as last time, they were still delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under baking, desserts

Leave a Reply

