Italian Dinners

So tonight, in an effort to do more cooking based on what is already in my (sparsely filled) refrigerator and pantry. Tonight’s find was a standard Annie go-to: pasta with tomatoes, mozzarella, basil, garlic, and olive oil. The twist was that I was basing the evening’s meal on a recent incredibly enjoyable experience at Francesca’s North with my dad. I got rigatoni with a cold tomato, basil, mozzarella topping. In my effort to emulate that meal, I think I succeeded.

It’s a fairly simple meal. I made half a box of pasta (boiling the water, adding pasta and salt and reducing to medium heat) and added the tomato topping as soon as I drained the pasta and had returned it to the pot.

The topping consisted of various colored (red plum, orange, yellow) tomatoes, one clove of garlic, about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, some chopped mozzarella cheese (small to medium chunks), julienne basil (thin strips), and salt and pepper to taste.

After I plated the pasta and topping, I added some goat cheese chunks. (If only I had a picture.) It was quite delicious. Everything got all melty together. I paired it with a nice new riesling, my sister’s company, and a new Law & Order: CI episode.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, eating

Leave a Reply

